Lancashire Combined Fire Authority

Meeting to be held on 24 June 2024

Appointment of Chairs and Vice-Chairs of Committees

Contact for further information – Sam Hunter – Member Services Manager – Tel No 01772 866720

Executive Summary

The appointment of Chairs and Vice-Chairs of Committees and Working Groups of the Combined Fire Authority and the appointment of Member Champions for the year 2024/25.

Recommendation

The Authority is asked to: -

- 1. Confirm appointments of Chairs and Vice-Chairs to the Authority's Committees and Working Groups for 2024/25; and
- 2. Confirm the appointment of the four Member Champions for 2024/25.

Information

Standing Order 5.1 (b) of the Authority requires the Authority at its annual meeting to appoint a Chair and Vice-Chair for each Committee created under Standing Order 4.1(a).

The Authority is asked to consider the proposed Conservative Chair and Vice-Chair appointments for its Committees and Working Groups for 2024/25 as set out below:

Committee/Working Group	Proposed Chair	Proposed Vice-Chair
Appeals Committee	CC Matthew Salter	CC Margaret Pattison
Audit Committee	CC John Shedwick	CC Nikki Hennessy
Performance Committee	CC Terry Hurn	CC Paul Rigby
Planning Committee	CC Stephen Clarke	CC John Singleton
Resources Committee	CC Ron Woollam	CC David O'Toole
Strategy Group	CFA Chair	CFA Vice-Chair
Member Training and Development Working Group	CC Stuart Morris	Cllr Dave Smith
Resources Sub-Committee for Injury Pensions	CC Sean Serridge	

The Authority is also asked to consider the proposed Conservative appointments to Member Champion roles as set out below:

Champion Role	Proposed CFA Member
Community Safety	CC Matthew Salter
Equality, Diversity and Inclusion	Cllr Zamir Khan MBE
Health and Wellbeing	CC John Singleton JP
Road Safety	CC Ron Woollam

The Authority is asked to consider the proposed Labour Chair and Vice-Chair appointments for its Committees and Working Groups for 2024/25 as set out below:

Committee/Working Group	Proposed Chair	Proposed Vice-Chair
Appeals Committee	CC Margaret Pattison	CC Matthew Salter
Audit Committee	CC Mark Clifford	CC John Shedwick
Performance Committee	CC Hasina Khan	CC Frank De Molfetta
Planning Committee	Cllr Jane Hugo	CC Nikki Hennessy
Resources Committee	CC Sean Serridge	CC Margaret Pattison
Strategy Group	CFA Chair	CFA Vice-Chair
Member Training and Development Working Group	Cllr Dave Smith	CC Stuart Morris
Resources Sub-Committee for Injury Pensions	CC Frank De Molfetta	

The Authority is also asked to consider the proposed Labour appointments to Member Champion roles as set out below:

Champion Role	Proposed CFA Member
Community Safety	CC Matthew Salter
Equality, Diversity and Inclusion	Cllr Zamir Khan MBE
Health and Wellbeing	CC Hasina Khan
Road Safety	Cllr Fred Jackson

Business Risk

The Authority's Standing Orders require the appointment of Chairs and Vice-Chairs for each of its committees.

Environmental Impact

None

Equality and Diversity Implications

None

HR Implications

None

Financial Implications

Payment of Allowances is in accordance with the Combined Fire Authority's Members' Allowance Scheme.

Legal Implications

None

Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985

List of background papers

Paper:	CFA Constitutional Standing Orders
Date:	22 February 2021
Contact:	Sam Hunter, Member Services Manager
Paper:	Members' Allowance Scheme
Date:	1 April 2023
Contact:	Sam Hunter, Member Services Manager

Reason for inclusion in Part 2 if appropriate: N/A